Pages Navigation Menu

Encoure Studios - Music, Photography, Videos, Parties

Parker Millsap Plans New Album, ‘The Very Last Day’


Oklahoma native Parker Millsap turned a lot of heads after releasing his self-titled album in 2014, whether from the striking maturity of his songs or the otherworldly blues-tinged howl that relayed them. Millsap’s sophomore effort The Very Last Day promises more of both and will be available March 25th.

The 22-year-old singer-songwriter, who was nominated for Emerging Artist of the Year at the 2014 Americana Honors and Awards, frequently dealt with spirituality and sin on his self-titled album, notably with the rollicking “Truck Stop Gospel.” Those themes re-emerge on The Very Last Day with songs like “Heaven Sent,” which features backing vocals from roots trio I’m With Her — Sarah Jarosz, Sara Watkins and Aoife O’Donovan — and has Millsap embodying a gay man talking to his evangelical father. Likewise, “Hades Pleads” examines Greek mythology’s god of the underworld.

Millsap co-produced The Very Last Day with Gary Paczosa (Alison Krauss and Union Station) and wrote 10 of its 11 tracks. The cover, “You Gotta Move,” is a blues and gospel standard that has been recorded by Fred McDowell and The Rolling Stones.

The Very Last Day track listing:
1. Hades Pleads 
2. Pining 
3. Morning Blues 
4. Heaven Sent 
5. The Very Last Day 
6. Hands Up 
7. Jealous Sun 
8. Wherever You Are 
9. You Gotta Move 
10. A Little Fire 
11. Tribulation Hymn 

Leave a Reply