Pages Navigation Menu

Encoure Studios - Music, Photography, Videos, Parties

Frank Ocean Releases Long-Awaited New Album ‘Blonde’ at Pop-Up Shops


Frank Ocean's long-awaited new album, Blonde, has arrived on Apple Music. The 17-track LP is the official follow-up to the singer's acclaimed 2012 album, Channel Orange and comes on the heels of Ocean's surprise "visual album" Endless.

The album's release came accompanied by copies of a print publication, titled Boys Don't Cry, at pop-up shops set up in New York, Chicago, Los Angeles and London. Blonde boasts the album's first single "Nikes."

Word of the album's impending release first surfaced in late July in The New York Times, not long after an Apple Music-hosted live stream video appeared on Ocean's website, In July, the singer-songwriter hinted that the LP was on its way when he posted a picture of a library book slip showing a range of potential "due dates." Ocean updated his website with a video featuring a hall with a pair of workbenches; a 45-minute version of this video served as the basis of Endless, which featured Ocean constructing a spiral staircase.

Ocean has been working on TKTKTK since at least January 2013. While details were largely kept under wraps, the musician reportedly collaborated with Pharrell Williams, Danger Mouse, Hit-Boy and Rodney Jerkins. Lil B even posted a photo on Tumblr showing him in the studio with Ocean. His Endless collaborators included James Blake, Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood, guitarist Alex G, singer Jazmine Sullivan, producer Arca and more.

As for music, Ocean's output between Channel Orange and TKTKTK has included an original ballad, "Wise Man," that was scrapped from Quentin Tarantino's 2012 film, Django Unchained; the atmospheric, lo-fi "Memrise;" and "You Are Luhh," a rendition of "At Your Best (You Are Love)," a 1976 Isley Brothers tune famously covered by Aaliyah in 1994 that ultimately appeared on Ocean's Endless. Ocean was also credited as a co-writer on James Blake's most 2016 LP, The Colour in Anything.

Blonde Track List

1. "Nikes"
2. "Ivy"
3. "Pink + White"
4. "Be Yourself"
5. "Solo"
6. "Skyline To"
7. "Self Control"
8. "Good Guy"
9. "Nights"
10. "Solo (Reprise)"
11. "Pretty Sweet"
12. "Facebook Story"
13. "Close To You"
14. "White Ferrari"
15. "Seigfried"
16. "Godspeed"
17. "Future Free"

Related Content:

Leave a Reply